Week 25: An Addendum

My dear readers, it turns out I was too hasty to despair! My love of all these years was not misplaced, the radio did not let me down. For today at a little after 7am – around 8 hours after I had declared my failure to get on the radio – I got on the radio. My name and my challenge were mentioned by Chris Evans on his Radio 2 breakfast show. The fact that my mention on air lasts for all of 11 seconds matters not. The fact that my mention is wedged between those of two children, suggesting that I ought perhaps to have included my age in my email (or suggesting perhaps that my writing style is a little immature), matters not.

What matters is this: first, the effort and time I thought lost was not entirely so. Second, following my mention the first song to be played was the Beatles’ All You Need is Love, and a more perfect request I could not have thought of.

For anyone who wishes to hear the 10-second fruits of last week’s labour should listen to BBC Radio 2’s Chris Evans Breakfast Show of Monday 24th June from about the 36 minute 20 second mark. It will be available for one week on the BBC iPlayer:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b02yhymq/The_Chris_Evans_Breakfast_Show_Game_Set_and_Ready_for_Wimbledon!/

So thank you Chris Evans for the mention!

And thank you also to the aunt of my squash buddy of week 25, without whose eagle-eardness I would not have heard this. Which I think gives my squash game, and its painful after-aches, a reassuringly inevitable part in this whole saga.

About georgina2013

I work in digital humanities publishing and when not setting myself silly challenges am the sort of person who loves good books, good coffee, new places, historic places, old comedy, jazz & Radio 4.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 25: An Addendum

  1. EBotziou says:

    Way to go Shakira!

Leave a Reply

